The Root of All Goodness

Adastra

Courtesy of Ad Astra Acupuncture

Growing up in Peru,  I long ago learned the value of giving,  but not until I lived in a different country did it start to make sense to me. Back in Peru, we all heard about making donations or volunteering for a good cause, but it is different when you live in a third world country, where surviving is an everyday mission  and most people work just to make ends meet.  The word “sharing” becomes something of a novelty that not everybody can afford to do…

When I started this journey about blogs, I didn’t realize how much I would learn in such a short period of time.  Most importantly it has made me realize that this  is not just about self-expression, but also about community, friends and family, culture, tolerance, hope, freedom,  and most importantly,  love.  I have mentioned this before in previous posts, but now I’m even more confident of the direction this project is taking.

At the moment I’m giving a little bit of my time  in place called Ad Astra in Lawrence, Kansas.  This Co-op is part of a community called POCA, People’s Organization of  Community Acupuncture.  What they do there is pretty simple yet  very important, which is to heal using the ancient Chinese technique of placing needles in specific areas of the body.  I started there as a patient, and have now begun volunteering there as well.  It has been a good experience so far,  but the best part is that I have been able to meet good people and become part of something special.

So what does the word sharing mean to me now?  To me it’s when you give even when you don’t have much for yourself, and  the reward of  doing that gives you the confidence to create a better tomorrow.  I believe when we get out of our selves,  we encounter a different world,  a more tolerant and better one.  Today I wanted to be grateful for being part of something better, not just for everybody else but also for myself….

2 thoughts on “The Root of All Goodness

Leave a Reply

