Highlights for Peruvian Cuisine

Astrid and Gaston restaurant appetizers

Astrid and Gaston restaurant appetizers, Lima Peru

I haven’t posted anything in almost a week, which I just realized today.  This is not for lack of trying, but because I’m working on a new and very exciting project which I will be posting about soon.  In the meantime, I found this article from a Peruvian website (and since I love to promote my country in any way I can) I thought this would be interesting enough to share it here.

The “World Travel Awards” celebrates and awards the best in tourism across the planet, choosing everything from best car rentals  to the most romantic destination. The cool part is, anyone can vote for their favorites.  So far this year, Peru has won awards in 4 different categories: South America’s Leading Tourist Board, South America’s Leading Culinary Destination, World’s Leading Green Destination (for Macchu Pichu), and the one I personally like the most, World’s Leading Culinary Destination for 2012.

I believe Peru, especially the cuisine,  is becoming more and more popular nowadays  thanks to the richness and uniqueness of  the ingredients and flavors that makes each dish special, and because of the constant fusion with other cuisines that incorporate the variety,  techniques, and traditions from other world cuisines using a new dimension of flavors, colors and shapes.  To be more specific, Peruvian culture doesn’t just absorb other ones, but incorporates the best elements of those cultures, evolving into a new and, in my humble opinion, better one.

For more information on the World Travel Awards you can visit this link:

For more explanation about the pictures and awards for the World’s 50 Best Restaurants, you can read more about them here.

Astrid and Gaston, Fish with spring vegetables

Astrid and Gaston restaurant, Fish with spring vegetables

Leave a Reply

