Life is Better With Chocolate (and Pancakes)

pancakeBI haven’t posted many recipes lately because I am transitioning to be a “six-days-a-week” vegetarian.  For me  it was a hard decision, but then again it is always hard when you get used to certain conditions.  It is especially hard coming from a country where having meat was a luxury.  My Peruvian mind still tells me I should eat more since I work more and I can afford it, but just recently  I have realized this is not just about myself, it is about everything and everybody around me. It is about being balanced not only in what we feed ourselves,  but also balancing the true cost of getting commodities  anytime anywhere in this country.   Besides, it is a health precaution as well since I’m only getting older I cannot deny the fact that eating meat all the time is shorting my life.  As I mentioned in a previous post, when it comes to meat, I cannot close my eyes anymore and pretend everything is OK because it is not. So the change might be small but it is still better than no change at all.

So without imposing more of my mental chatter on you, I present this recipe I adapted from “Food and Wine Magazine” (of course I added my own style just to complicate things more like I always do):

Flax, Coconut, and Chocolate Pancakes with Mascarpone-Strawberry Sauce (gluten free)

1/3 cup brown rice flour

1/3 cup white rice flour

1/4 cup of sugar, plus 2 Tbsp for the strawberry sauce

3 Tbsp potato starch

3 Tbsp tapioca starch

3 Tbsp coconut flour

2 Tbsp flax seed meal

2 Tbsp of cocoa powder (make sure to use a good quality one)

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2 eggs

1 1/4 cup milk (room temperature)

1/4 cup coconut oil melted

1 cup strawberries (divided on half)

1/ cup of Mascarpone cheese

1/2 tsp lemon juice

For the batter: In a big bowl mix all the flours, starches and the flaxseed meal, 1/4 cup of sugar, the baking powder and salt. In a separate bowl, mix the milk, eggs and the coconut oil (it’s very important that the milk is room temperature; otherwise the coconut oil will solidify while whisking). Pour into the dry ingredients and mix again. You can let the batter sit in the fridge if you like, but if you do, you have to whisk a little bit more before making the pancakes.  Since there is no gluten, the batter doesn’t hold together like regular flour does.

For the strawberry/marcarpone sauce: blend 1/2 cup of strawberries first, then use a fine strainer to remove the seeds.  Add the lemon juice, the 2 Tbsp of sugar and the mascarpone cheese. If you like you can leave some strawberry sauce by itself for decoration. This depends in how thick you like the final sauce mixed with the cheese.

Making the pancakes: Using a cooking oil spray in a medium high heat griddle, pour a 1/4 cup of the batter for each pancake.  Cook each side for 3 minutes or until brown.

Serve with the rest of the sliced strawberries.  Drizzle the sauce and enjoy. Buen provecho!

pancakeA

2 thoughts on “Life is Better With Chocolate (and Pancakes)

  1. I am a fan of your blog and would like to nominate you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. If you wish to accept (and I won’t be offended if you don’t) here are the rules: 1) display the award logo, 2) link back to the person giving the award, 3) state 7 things about you, 4) list 15 blogs that you wish to nominate, 5) notify these bloggers of the award and the rules. Go here to see the person that awarded me: http://shopwithintent.com/ HAPPY BLOGGING

Leave a Reply

